top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason

Week 1: Digital painting

Updated: Jun 12, 2019

Hello this week I will practice a new method of digital painting I that I have been following through the videos of Omar from youtube. so to start this off I made a sketch, it is important to keep details to a minimum for now. Your lines can be very rough later on you can adjust and fix your details during the painting phase.

Just a few sketches
Sketch phase

Once you are done with the sketching and you are happy with the results you can proceed to give the drawing a base color, this can be done by just making a new layer and dragging it behind the sketch layer

A color to put behind the sketch layer
Base colour

Now add some light shading just some dark spots where light won't reach, I recommend you to use a hard brush or a soft brush depending on what style you are going for, just make sure you don't overdo the shading, because remember the less the better.

Adding a few minor details
Light shading

Now for the nitty gritty part, you can start blending your shades with the base color, this can be done by selecting any brush of your choice, I do recommend you to put the opacity of the brush around 60-75% and setting the flow to 70-80%. Proceed by slowly merging the colors together and avoid creating only smooth surfaces, with this I mean keep a good balance between hard surfaces and smooth surfaces If I had to give a ratio it would be 65% hard surface and 35% smooth surface.


Don't overdo it yet
Adding more details

Add more colors and details and start working on fine details, at this stage you can start experimenting with colours and shadows.


Currently I am not happy with this colour scheme so I decided to redo the colours. To see if I could improve the composition more.



Now for the last part make it look pretty to show for public.




Artist notes

+ The shading is nice today

+ I really like the anatomy of the face part


- The body is a bit miswarped, this is because of flawed anatomy

- The fins look too shallow, this can be fixed with shading

- The top fin is too far up the body, it should be more centered


(This blog will be updated)



43 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page